> Back to Top

OVERVIEW

All drivers are required to have a driver’s license from the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services (DDS). Three tests are required to get a license: a vision test, a written test on general road rules and signs, and a driving test with a DDS official.

Cars must be registered and titled within 7 days of purchase or 30 days of moving to Georgia. Registration proves taxes have been paid on the car and must be renewed every year on the owner’s birthday. The title proves ownership. Cars that are not registered and titled are illegal to drive and can result in fines or loss of license.

> Back to Top

TYPES OF LICENSES

Class CP /Permit

A license for people 15 – 18 years old that lets them practice driving only when an adult with a Class C license is riding in the front seat.

Class D /Intermediate License

A license for people 16 – 18 years old who had a Permit that limits the hours the license holder can drive, who can ride in the car, and the number of people who can ride in the car.

Class C

A license for people who are 18 years and older.

> Back to Top

HOW TO GET A LICENSE

DDS REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

  • I-94
  • Social security number or ineligibility form (Form SSAL676)
  • Proof of identity
    Examples: driver’s license, birth certificate, immigration photo ID, passport
  • 2 Proofs of residency
    Examples: a recent bank statement, utility bill, or paycheck stub; a signed lease; a DS-20 form
  • Cash, check, money order, debit card, or credit card

DRIVERS OVER 18 YEARS OLD: GETTING A CLASS C LICENSE

Step 1: Study for the written test.
Step 2: Go to DDS to take the vision, written, and sign tests. The written test is offered in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Vietnamese. The sign test must be taken in English.

  1. Bring all DDS required documents.

Step 3: Make an appointment with DDS to take the driving test for the next day.

  1. Bring all DDS required documents.
  2. Test takers must bring a safe, registered, and insured car.

DRIVERS UNDER 18 YEARS OLD: GETTING A PERMIT, CLASS D, AND CLASS C LICENSE

Step 1: Study for the written test.
Step 2: Go to DDS to take the vision, written, and sign tests for the Permit. The written test is offered in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Vietnamese. The sign test must be taken in English.

  1. Bring a signed and notarized Certificate of Attendance from school, a parent or guardian, his or her proof of identity, and all DDS required documents.

Step 3: Practice driving and take all the required driving courses for 1 year.

  1. Complete at least 40 hours of driving, including at least 6 hours at night.
  2. Take the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) course in school or online.
  3. Take a driver’s education course in school or from a private company.

Step 4: Make an appointment for a Class D license driving test after holding a Permit for 1 year.

  1. Bring learner’s permit, ADAP card, driver’s education certificate, proof of 40 hours of driving, Certificate of Attendance from school, a parent or guardian, his or her proof of identity, and all DDS required documents.
  2. Test takers must bring a safe, registered, and insured car.

Step 5: Go to DDS and ask for a Class C license after turning 18 years old.

  1. Bring Class D license and all DDS required documents.

> Back to Top

HOW TO INSURE AND REGISTER YOUR CAR

Step 1: Buy car insurance. It is REQUIRED in Georgia.

  1. There are many car insurance companies in Georgia. Spend time researching different companies and choose one that meets budget and coverage needs.
  2. The insurance company will send an insurance card that proves insurance. This card should be kept in the car.
    Respected Georgia Car Insurance Companies**:
    Amica www.amica.com
    Geico www.geico.com
    Progressive www.progressive.com
    Auto-Owner’s Insurance www.auto-owners.com
    Liberty Mutual www.libertymutual.com
    State Farm www.statefarm.com
    Esurance www.esurance.com
    ** Based on reviews and JDPower and Associates ratings

Step 2: Get a vehicle inspection to show the car produces a safe level of emissions. This is required every year to maintain car registration.

  1. Inspections cost $10 to $20.
  2. A Certificate of Inspection (Form T-22B) will be provided. Keep this form because it is necessary to register the car.
    State Approved Vehicle Inspection Stations: www.cleanairforce.com/map/search.php

SEATBELTS & CAR SEATS

The U.S. has many laws to protect drivers and children. The following are essential:

  • Children 0 – 1 years old must ride in a car seat that faces the back of the car until they are at least 1 year old AND at least 20 pounds.
  • Children 1 year old and 20 pounds to children 8 years old OR at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall must ride in a car seat or booster seat that is appropriate for their height and weight.
  • Children under 8 years old are not allowed to ride in the front seat.
  • Children 8 – 18 years old must wear a seatbelt.
  • All adults, 18 years and older, must wear a seatbelt when riding in the front seat.
  • The Fire Department can help find safe, affordable car seats. Call them at 404-546-4444

Step 3: Register the car and transfer the title at Georgia Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).

  1. Download and fill out the Tag/Title Application (Form MV-1) at https://dor.georgia.gov/sites/dor.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/MVD/Form/MV_Tag_and_or_Title_Application_Form_MV1_0.pdf
  2. Bring driver’s license; insurance card; Certificate of Inspection; proof of residency (examples: lease or recent utility bill); proof of ownership (examples: dealer issued registration tag, previous owner’s title signed over); and cash, check, or money order to pay the fees.
  3. Registering and titling can be very expensive. The fees depend on the car and county of residence.
  4. Place the sticker on the license plate and the license plate on the car as soon as possible. If applicable, a new title will be mailed shortly and should be kept in a safe place at home.

> Back to Top

Driving Services

DDS DEKALB LOCATIONS

DDS Website
www.dds.ga.gov

Decatur DDS
2801 Candler Road, Suite 82, Decatur 30034
T-F: 7:30am-6:30pm, Sat: 7:30am-12pm

Lithonia DDS
8040 Rockbridge Road, Lithonia 30058
T-F: 7:30am-6:30pm, Sat: 7:30am-12pm

DDS SERVICES

Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program
ADAP course schedule and online course information.
www.dds.ga.gov/ADAP

DDS Appointments
Call to make an appointment for driving tests.
866-754-3687
M-F: 7am-5:15pm

Driver’s Education Courses
List of state approved private driver’s education service providers.
http://local.dmv.org/georgia/dekalb-county/local-drivers-education.php

Driving Rules Study Guide
Free study guide for the written test.
www.eregulations.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/13GADM-Final-LR.pdf

Driving Rules Practice Test
Free online practice test for the written test.
www.dmv.org/ga-georgia/practice-tests/

Information for Non-US Citizens
www.dds.ga.gov/drivers/dldata.aspx?con=1741471757&ty=dl

MVD DEKALB LOCATIONS

DeKalb Tag Office
4380 Memorial Drive, Decatur 30032
404-298-4000
M-F: 8am-4:30pm

DRIVING SCHOOLS

Gore Driving School
4583 Rockbridge Rd, Suite E, Stone Mountain 30083
770-574-4441
M-F: 9am-6pm
http://www.goredrivingschoolatlanta.com



2300 Henderson Mill Rd., NE / Suite 200 / Atlanta, GA 30345 / 404.299.6099
Site Design by Cooperworks, Inc. Atlanta